Ava DuVernay Assembles All-Star Film Talent For Thursday’s Array Film Fellowship Tweet-A-Thon

The details of director Ava DuVernay’s fourth Array Film Fellowship tweet-a-thon are here, and they speak to an epic event. The talented DuVernay, who takes it as her mission to elevate the entertainment industry as well as make her own, must-see films and series, has conjured an A-list cast of film talent to aid her in her online, wide-ranging event. Wonder Woman 1984 director Patty Jenkins, Oscar-winner and all-around legend Guillermo del Toro, and up-and-coming star and Crazy Rich Asians director John M. Chu are a few of the folks who will be taking part. The event will begin this Thursday, April 30, at 9 am PT, and will last for an astonishing 10 hours and include more than 50 directors.

Deadline broke the story about DuVernay’s Array Film Fellowship tweet-at-thon, which will offer film fans the chance to ask questions to the huge array (pun intended) of filmmakers about their craft, their upcoming projects, and more. For those at home who just want to follow the action, the fellowship will be using the hashtag #ARRAYNow.

Here’s how DuVernay described the event: “The Array Film Fellowship is our way of conjuring community, creativity, and conversation while we’re all staying at home during these unprecedented times. With the support and enthusiasm of our friends at Twitter, along with dozens of my fellow filmmakers, we hope the event brings solace and solidarity to those who join us.”

DuVernay, whose Netflix series When They See Us was one of the best series of 2019, will of course also be participating in the event.

Here’s your list of participating filmmakers:

Oscar winners/nominees: Guillermo del Toro (The Shape of Water), Liz Garbus (Whatever Happened, Miss Simone), Matthew Cherry (Hair Love), Roger Ross Williams (Life, Animated), Yance Ford (Strong Island), Ava DuVernay (13th).

Gamechangers: Jon M. Chu (Crazy Rich Asians), Patty Jenkins (Wonder Woman), Malcolm D. Lee (Girls Trip), Jill Soloway (Afternoon Delight), Alma Har’el (Honey Boy) George Tillman (The Hate U Give)

Veterans: Julie Dash (Daughters of the Dust), Patricia Cardoso (Real Women Have Curves), Michael Schultz (Cooley High), Bill Duke (A Rage in Harlem), Ernest Dickerson (Juice), Mira Nair (Mississippi Masala), Robert Townsend (The Five Heartbeats), Chris Eyre (Smoke Signals).

Featured image: L-r: Ava DuVernay, Jharrel Jerome in ‘When They See Us.’ Photo by Atsushi Nishijima/Netflix


Bryan Abrams

Bryan Abrams is the Editor-in-chief of The Credits. He's run the site since its launch in 2012. He lives in New York.