Comic-Con 2017: FX Announces American Horror Story: Cult

The long awaited season 7 American Horror Story title has been announced – American Horror Story: Cult. The announcement comes after a series of crypt clues were posted by showrunner Ryan Murphy (Glee), with more news spilling out last night at Comic-Con.

Prior to the announcement Murphy posted a photo of a woman covered in bees to Instagram. To unveil the announcement, FX launched a fantastically creepy website. A video complete with dancing clowns is displayed on the first page of the website, where the name of the season is revealed at the end.

Not much is known about the season other than that it will use the 2016 Presidential election to tell the rest of the story. Prior to the announcement, Murphy promised that the announcement “will all make sense.” While the President and his former opponent will not be portrayed by actors, Murphy has stated that they will be seen on TV.

Returning for season 7 are veteran cast members Sarah Paulson (The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story) and Evan Peters and it is believed that Cheyenne Jackson (Onion News Empire) and Adina Porter (The Newsroom) will be returning as well. The cast will be joined by newcomers Billie Lourd (Scream Queens), Billy Eichner (Difficult People), Leslie Grossman (What I Like About You), and Colton Haynes (Teen Wolf). It has also been announced that Lena Dunham (Girls) will be appearing this season as well.

AHS: Cult will premiere on Tuesday September 5 on FX at 10/9c.