Emmy Awards: “The Bear,” “Beef,” and “Succession” Win Top Awards in Most Diverse Ceremony Ever

The Emmys have come and gone and delivered the most diverse awards ceremony in its history, with a person of color winning in every major category for the first time.

Quinta Brunson won Best Actress in a Comedy Series for playing Janine Teagues in Abbott Elementary, becoming the second Black woman to win the category since Isabel Sanford won in 1981 for The Jeffersons. Ayo Edebiri was a big part of the huge night for FX’s The Bear, winning her Emmy for Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for playing the young chef Sydney Adamu, becoming the third Black woman to take home the trophy, joining Sheryl Lee Ralph for Abbott Elementary in 2022 and Jackée Harry for 227 in 1987. RuPaul, the host of RuPaul’s Drag Race, continued his historic Emmys run as the most-awarded host and Black person in history. He won Best Reality Competition Program. And Niecy Nash-Betts finally got an Emmy, after four nominations, for Best Supporting Actress in a Limited or Anthology Series for her work in Netflix’s Dahmer – Monster: The Jeffery Dahmer Story.

Then there’s Beef creator Lee Sung Jin, who earned three Emmys for Best Writing for a Limited or Anthology Series or TV Movie, Best Directing for a Limited or Anthology Series or TV Movie, and for Beef‘s win for Best Limited or Anthology Series. He also had to feel equally as thrilled that his two leads, Ali Wong and Steven Yeun, both won their categories for Best Actress and Best Actor in a Limited or Anthology Series, the first Asian winners for those categories.

Both Succession and The Bear joined Beef by winning the top awards, Succession nabbing Best Drama Series and The Bear Best Comedy Series. Succession creator Jesse Armstrong also won Best Writing for a Drama Series, Succession director Mark Mylod won Best Directing, while stars Kieran Culkin and Sarah Snook won Best Actor and Actress in a Drama Series, respectively. Their co-star Matthew Macfadyen won Best Supporting Actor. The Bear‘s Jeremy Allen White and Ebon Moss-Bachrach joined their co-star Ayo Edebiri in the win column, winning Best Actor in a Comedy Series and Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series, respectively.

Anthony Anderson hosted the show live from the Peacock Theater on Fox.

For the full list of winners, click here.

For interviews with Emmy nominees, check these out:

Emmy-Nominated “Succession” Editor Ken Eluto on Cutting the Roy Family Down to Size

“The White Lotus” Emmy-Nominated Music Supervisor Gabe Hilfer on Mia’s Musical Chops, Tanya’s Swan Song & More

Featured image: LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA – JANUARY 15: Ali Wong, winner of Outstanding Lead Actress In A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie and Outstanding Limited Or Anthology Series for “Beef,” poses in the press room during the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards at Peacock Theater on January 15, 2024 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images)


The Credits

The Credits is an online magazine that tells the story behind the story to celebrate our large and diverse creative community. Focusing on profiles of below-the-line filmmakers, The Credits celebrates the often uncelebrated individuals who are indispensable to the films and TV shows we love.