Motion Picture Association Statement on Confirmation of Alejandro Mayorkas as Department of Homeland Security Secretary

February 2, 2021

WASHINGTON The U.S. Senate today confirmed Alejandro Mayorkas as the next Department of Homeland Security Secretary. The following is a statement from Charles Rivkin, Chairman and CEO of the Motion Picture Association:

“We are pleased by the Senate’s vote today confirming Alejandro Mayorkas – a historic choice for our nation’s next Homeland Security Secretary. We look forward to working with Secretary Mayorkas to protect American jobs and consumers from the harms wrought by the criminal operators of piracy sites and services.

“The National Intellectual Property Rights Coordination Center (IPR Center) stands at the forefront of protecting America’s creative community, and as Secretary Mayorkas works to protect American communities, the IPR Center will play a pivotal role in combatting online piracy and copyright enforcement. Digital video piracy threatens creativity and innovation as it eliminates at least 230,000 American jobs and siphons more than $29.2 billion a year from the creative community. We stand ready to partner with Secretary Mayorkas to safeguard creators, including by forging voluntary public- and private-sector partnerships to curb piracy.

“As we confront the many challenges caused by the global pandemic, the film, television and streaming industry is confident that Secretary Mayorkas and his team will advance an agenda that enables us to return to production and strengthen the economic engine that supports 2.5 million American jobs.”

# # #

About The Motion Picture Association

The Motion Picture Association, Inc. (MPA) serves as the global voice and advocate of the motion picture, home video, and television industries. It works in every corner of the globe to advance the creative industry, protect its members’ content across all screens, defend the creative and artistic freedoms of storytellers, and support innovative distribution models that bring an expansion of viewing choices to audiences around the world.

Its member studios are: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures; Netflix, Inc.; Paramount Pictures Corporation; Sony Pictures Entertainment Inc.; Universal City Studios LLC; and Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. Charles Rivkin is Chairman and CEO.

Media Contact:

Tom Zigo, Motion Picture Association