Motion Picture Association Chairman and CEO Charles Rivkin on Appointment of Shira Perlmutter as 14th U.S. Register of Copyrights

September 21, 2020

WASHINGTON – The Librarian of Congress Dr. Carla Hayden today announced the appointment of Shira Perlmutter as the next Register of Copyrights. The following is a statement from Motion Picture Association Chairman and CEO Charles Rivkin:

“The Motion Picture Association congratulates Shira Perlmutter on her appointment as the 14th Register of Copyrights. Ms. Perlmutter has spent her career advancing intellectual property rights at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, the Copyright Office, the World Intellectual Property Organization, and in the private sector. She has a demonstrated commitment to supporting the rights of creators for the ultimate public good. We’re confident she will be a dedicated and effective director of the Copyright Office. We applaud Dr. Hayden on her selection and look forward to working with her and Ms. Perlmutter on protecting intellectual property, advancing copyright policy, and supporting all creators in this country.

“The leadership of the Register of the United States Copyright Office is critical to the success of the film and television industry, which supports 2.5 million jobs in the U.S. alone. Creators in our industry rely on the rights afforded by copyright law to produce and distribute the movies and TV shows enjoyed by audiences around the globe.”

# # #

About the Motion Picture Association:

The Motion Picture Association, Inc. (MPA) serves as the global voice and advocate of the motion picture, home video, and television industries. It works in every corner of the globe to advance the creative industry, protect its members’ content across all screens, defend the creative and artistic freedoms of storytellers, and support innovative distribution models that bring an expansion of viewing choices to audiences around the world.

Its member studios are: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures; Netflix, Inc.; Paramount Pictures Corporation; Sony Pictures Entertainment Inc.; Universal City Studios LLC; and Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. Charles Rivkin is Chairman and CEO.

Media Contact:

Tom Zigo, Motion Picture Association